fundiculous

Trying things, so you don't have to

Harmless Harvest 100% RAW Coconut Water – w/price update~!!

on March 13, 2013

IMAG4356

Here’s the deal. If you don’t like coconut water now, this is the one to drink, and if you already are satisfied with you can or box or any of the other brands, don’t try this, it will spoil you, and never want to drink overly processed coconut water again.

I introduce Harmless Harvest RAW Coconut Water. It is both organic, and free of any additives, sugars, flavors, etc. Just straight up coconut water in its purest form.

This is the hardest and the easiest post to write, mostly because this is THE BEST coconut water out there, hands down, no fluff, no comparasion, just THE BEST. No matter where I am, I can open up a cold bottle, close my eyes, and taste paradise. Literally. If I had a pool and those little paper umbrellas, I would go sit in my reclining lawn chair, put the umbrella in my drink and pretend I was somewhere nice.

There aren’t a lot of ingredients to analize, or nutrition. It doesn’t come in flavors. Ok, there is a slight downside to this product. It’s a little expensive. If I already had a latte drinking habit, I would switch them out, but since I don’t, I just buy a bunch every time I go to the store. They come in 2 sizes, 8 and 16 ounce bottles. (16 only available in some areas) An 8 ounce bottle will run you $2.79 (I think is an updated number) on average, but let me assure you, it’s totally worth it. I haven’t located the illusive 16 ounce bottle, but when I do, I will update.

Everyone knows coconut water is the rage in hydration/nutrition and here are the nutritional facts:

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size: 8 fl. oz.
Servings Per Container: 1

Calories 56
Calories from Fat 0
Total Fat 0 g (0%)
Saturated Fat 0 g (0%)
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg (0%)
Sodium 4 mg (0%)
Potassium 514 mg (15%)
Total Carbohydrate 14 g (5%)
Dietary Fiber 1 g (4%)
Sugars 12 g
Protein 0 g
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 4%
Calcium 4%
Iron 0%
Phosphorus 14%
Magnesium 6%

As you can see coconut water is high in potassium and phosphorus, making it a wonderul hydrator! No fat, low cal, and more potassium than a banana. Its really a nice little nutritional powerhouse for what you are drinking. I love them after a long workout to replenish the electrolytes in my body!

Another perk about this coconut water is that I can support the company, knowing it isn’t harming the environment. Hence the name Harmless Harvest. This is from their website:

A SUSTAINABLE, DELICIOUS & NUTRITIOUS FUTURE.
1.We develop and market outstanding functional foods and beverages that provide
the raw nutritional integrity of pioneering, sustainably wild-harvested plant products.
2.To achieve this we combine innovative scientific methods with local traditional knowledge,
from rewilding to agroforestry.
3. This safeguards threatened ecosystems and traditions by giving them mass-market appeal
with tangible economic value.

Any company that invests its time into making things better for everyone, I will wholeheartedlly support. These guys are helping cultivate nearly extinct tropical plants and creating eco awareness, among many other projects.

I for one am content paying my $3 bucks a bottle for this little treat. Is it a tad spendy? yes, but it certainly tastes good, and its much easier than hacking into a coconut.

Pros: High phosphorus and potassium, low calorie, hydrating, DELICIOUS-O, Fat free, organic, raw, company is using sustainable plants that won’t hurt the ecosystem

Cons: It’s a little  pricey, and you have to go to Whole Foods or similar stores to get.

Score: 9/10

****It was brought to my attention that my pricing was off for the 8 oz bottle! Which at least now I can say my number of 3.99 was much too high! I did fund a suggested retail price of $2.79, and now purchased at Whole Foods in Las Vegas for $2.69. I will buy a case on my next venture and post what the breakdown is there. My apologies to everyone, I did not mean to misrepresent the price and hope you are now flocking to the store to buy more of this product since I just essentially put it on sale ;) ****

For more information on this product and their future projects/sustainability, etc check them out at the site below:

http://www.harmlessharvest.com/

10 responses to “Harmless Harvest 100% RAW Coconut Water – w/price update~!!

  1. Thank you so much for helping spread the word! So happy you love our coconut water as much as we do! That’s a pretty high price for the 8oz bottle though. Where do you purchase? And are you getting a case discount?

    • fundiculous says:

      Oh I’m so glad you saw the post. (and that you were one of my positive product reviews) I seriously am enfactuated with this stuff! My original purchase was at Marlene’s up in the Pacific Northwest. I haven’t purchased yet at Whole Foods down here in Vegas, although I will be going tomorrow. (YAY!) No I wasn’t getting a case discount. I attempted to look online for prices to see what was average, but didn’t have much luck. If you could provide what the normal retail average price is, I would love to update the number! (or I can get it from WF tomorrow)

  2. Dirty South says:

    Yeah this stuff is ok but the price is horrible for most non rich or non famous people. I do not like that I am forced to go to a local market to buy it. I would rather buy a carton of coconut milk for $4-6, I can get a whole carton and it will last me more than one day. I can choose if I want reduced sugar or no sugar added varietly, or even some with vanilla, etc. I know the harmless brand is supposed to be the best cold filtered, etc. I just feel like it is not worth $2.50 for 8 oz.

    • fundiculous says:

      Thanks for the thoughts, but as a quick thought too, coconut millk isn’t the same product as coconut water. I use it in my smoothies and such, and yes it is much less expensive. I definitely see your side I am not rich or famous, (but that would be awesome) so it’s kinda my treat to myself, instead of a latte or fast food burger. Thanks for your comments! Oh and I love the vanilla coconut milk in my smoothies. It just adds that subtle deliciousness.

  3. T-gir says:

    Dirty South…I agree it is a little on the expensive side, but all the coconut milks I have found contain carrageenan, an emulsifier which is also a carcinogen. If that weren’t bad enough, my body reacts to carrageenan by producing massive amount of phlegm(yuck), so I really can’t drink the milk.

    • fundiculous says:

      I really love their water! I just bought a case from WF’s this week, and it just doesn’t compare. I did not realize that many used carrageenan. That is actually very interesting. thanks for stopping by and for the note on carrageenan! I always thought it was a seaweed type plant, but I don’t know much about it (obviously)

  4. Karen says:

    Yes it is expensive–but I’m worth it. Its the best I’ve tasted. I wish I could find it by the case.

    • fundiculous says:

      Where do you live? (sorry for the delay, major crazy going on here) I have found it being carried in more stores, and some locations are willing to get it if you order a case. And yes, it is sooooo worth it. I seriously could live on this stuff

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

